Chris Mangnall

I recently spent a few hours talking to a photographer from

http://www.swpix.com

They hold the contract from the Rugby football league to photograph matches. The most important thing i learnt was to be organised and archive all images correctly including captioning the image. I also learnt that you can never take too many photographs its is best to take 3000 images than only 300. He also told me that practice is crucial and through practice you get to know what works best for yourself. These few hours were valuable too me to learn from someone within the industry about how to work and pursue a career in sports photography. He showed me the original JPEG images and then the edited versions, it seems the main adjustments are cropping, sharpening and correcting the horizon. He told me all the photographers he works with do not shoot RAW.

Leave a comment